Friday, August 5, 2022

Book review of The Water Witch by Jessica Thorne

French Village Diaries book review The Water Witch Jessica Thorne
The Water Witch by Jessica Thorne


The Water Witch: A totally gripping fantasy romance novel filled with mystery by Jessica Thorne            

 

 

Sitting side by side on the clifftop, he turns to her solemnly and says, ‘The water witch is real.’ She rolls her eyes and grins, teasing him. ‘Sure. A psycho mermaid. Got it.’ But now he’s gone forever… will she find the truth beneath the waves?

Brittany, France. Ariadne Walker’s fiancé Simon drowned in the stormy Atlantic Ocean doing what he loved: searching for the lost underwater city of Ys. Local legend says it was destroyed centuries ago when the princess of Ys became a water witch, cursing the name of the man who betrayed her.

Ari never believed these tall tales. And the letter Simon sent before he died finishing their relationship is a devastating secret she’ll take to the grave. But arriving in Brittany, Ari encounters a man emerging from the sea in a rocky cove, saltwater dripping from his dark hair. Rafael swears the legends are true: and his ancestor was cursed by the water witch. Now, his own life is in terrible danger. And the secret to breaking the curse lies hidden in the lost city.

When Ari finds a strange engraved mask on the sea bed, and a cryptic map amongst Simon’s things, she has no choice but to believe Rafael’s plea. Can they follow the trail and save Rafael’s life? Poring over the map by candlelight, the flickering flames only add to the heat between them… but will Ari’s fragile heart soon be shattered all over again? And will they ever find Ys and break the curse – or will the water witch demand another sacrifice?

An absolutely addictive romantic fantasy read filled with passion and mystery, that will sweep you away to the wild coast of northern France. Inspired by real myths and legends from this magical place, The Water Witch is perfect for fans of Luanne G. Smith, River of Shadows and Jennifer L. Armentrout.



French Village Diaries book review The Water Witch Jessica Thorne
The Water Witch Jessica Thorne books-on-tour


 

My Review 

I can’t disagree with the “absolutely addictive” claim written in the blurb, as the magic and mystery of this book captivated me from the beginning.

 

There were so many things that attracted me to this book, from the dark but colourful cover to the wild, rugged location of Brittany, and not forgetting the Celtic myths and legends the area is steeped in. This book takes you to the heart of a centuries old mystery of a lost underwater city and the lives of a family said to be cursed. As the story unfolded, I was drawn in, as if mesmerised by a hypnotic tide, never knowing which way the current would take me. 

 

As Ari and Rafael dig deep into the past, there is passion and intense emotions, dark moments and strange goings on. The things they see often blur the line between reality and something else, an underlying magic that can’t rationally be explained. They were an unlikely match, but I warmed to both Ari, for her expertise and vulnerability and Rafael, a handsome, successful Frenchman, drawn to Ari in his desperation to survive.

 

This book really inspired my imagination and gripped my mind – it was a difficult book for my head to put down, even when I was doing other things.

 

The more I read, the more I wanted to discover the Breton legends for myself, and I got to the end feeling that I would love to sit down with the author and chat all things Breton, myth and legend. I’ve certainly followed her on Instagram and was delighted to find photos of places that inspired her in Brittany and other locations in France I know and love.

 

If you are looking for a mystery with a difference this summer or enjoy a book that takes you beyond the landscapes of a location, I’m sure you will enjoy The Water Witch as much as I did.



Purchase Link

 


 

French Village Diaries book review The Water Witch Jessica Thorne
Jessica Thorne

Author Bio

 

Jessica Thorne saw Star Wars at an impressionable age and life was never the same. She’s loved fantasy, romance and science fiction ever since and spends her time looking for adventure – in the pages of her books.


Sometimes she is Ruth Frances Long and won the European Science Fiction Society Spirit of Dedication Award for Best Author of Children’s Science Fiction and Fantasy, 2015.

 

Social Media Links

 

Website 

Facebook 

Instagram 

Twitter 

Email sign up 

 

You can sign up for all the best Bookouture deals you'll love here 

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please don't be shy, I love to hear from you.